Our Diocese


The former Prefecture of the Western Transvaal, established by the decree of Pope Paul VI on the 14th October 1965, was raised to the status of Diocese of Klerksdorp by papal decree dated 27th February 1978.

The Diocese comprises the following civil districts:

Originally part of the Diocese of Johannesburg, the Diocese of Klerksdorp is bound on the East by the Archdiocese of Johannesburg, on the South by the Kroonstad Diocese and Bloemfontein Archdiocese, on the West by the Kimberley Diocese and on the North by the Diocese of Rustenburg.

The Diocese comprises the following civil districts: Potchefstroom, Klerksdorp, Hartbeesfontein, Wolmaransstad, Bloemhof, Christiana, Schweizer-Reneke, Delareyville, Lichtenburg, Coligny and Ventersdorp.

Pastoral Zones

To ease the work and facilitate effective service delivery to the entire Catholic Community, the Diocese of Klerksdorp is divided into four deaneries.

The Diocese has a geographic area of 34 800 square Km.
It has a population estimated to date at 1 500 000 people and a Catholic population of 99 232 Hab.

The Diocesan feast day falls on 29th June and its patron saints are Saints Peter and Paul.


The Right Reverend Bishop Daniel A. O. Verstraete OMI, appointed Prefect Apostolic 9th November 1965 and then Bishop 27th January 1978. He was ordained on 14th May 1978 at Klerksdorp. He resigned due to ill health.

The Right Reverend Bishop Zithulele Patrick Mvemve, ordained Bishop of the Titular See of Luperciana 29th June 1986 at Johannesburg. Appointed Auxiliary and Vicar General to Bishop Orsmond. Appointed Bishop of Klerksdorp 10th May 1994. He resigned 26th April 2013.

The Most Reverend Archbishop Buti Thagale OMI, Metropolitan Archbishop of Johannesburg was appointed Apostolic Administrator of the Diocese of Klerksdorp on 26th April 2013.


Right Reverend Bishop Victor Hlolo Phalana

Appointed 24th November 2014 and ordained Bishop on 25th January 2015.